Notes from the Urban Homestead – Day Two

Log of my chores and activities at the Urban Homestead, Tuesday June 2, 2009

In return for my stay at the Urban Homestead, I perform daily chores.  Tonight my assignment was weeding the garden / gathering salad greens for dinner.  Nance showed me several edible weeds growing in her garden (and probably yours): wild spinach AKA lambsquarter, wild sorrel, gobo (AKA burdock), shiso, and of course the classic dandelion.  This whole exercise is a revelation.  I buy burdock roots at the PCC like they’re a delicacy (and they are, at $5 a pound) – at the same time I’m pulling them out of my garden. Ever the engineer’s daughter, I love the efficiency of being able to accomplish two tasks with just one chore.  The salad is delicious.  Any weeds we don’t want go to the chickens.

Leave a Reply

